top of page

Released in 1970 Curtis is the debut album by American soul / funk artist, and former lead singer of The Impressions, Curtis Mayfield. Released on his own label Curtom Records and also self-produced this debut was very much a solo project building on Mayfield's personal experiences.


It moved away from the pop soul sounds of The Impressions and featured much more of a funk and psychedelic inspired sound. It was a powerful musical statement which covered many social and political concerns of the time, most famously in the single "Move On Up" which would later be covered and sampled by many future artists including The Jam and Kanye West.



A1    (Don't Worry) If There's A Hell Below We're All Going To Go
A2    The Other Side Of Town
A3    The Makings Of You
A4    We The People Who Are Darker Than Blue

B1    Move On Up
B2    Miss Black America
B3    Wild And Free
B4    Give It Up

Curtis Mayfield - Curtis

Only 1 left in stock